After starting near the back of the field, 14-year-old Brandon McFerran would drive his No. 64 Mustang through the traffic to pick up his second feature win of the 2013 season.

On lap three in the first heat, Samantha Shaw would go for a spin in turn two. In the end, McFerran would pick up the win ahead of Warren Paxton, Terry Woodley, Lucas Wolf, Brian Love, Brendan Adams, Joe Dunlop, Eric Rainey, Lisa DeLeeuw and Peter Inglis.

In the second heat, Wendy Adams would run into problems on lap three in turn four. She would get the car righted the right direction and continue. Billy Swartzenburg would pick up the win ahead of Ben Melenhorst, Eric Yorke, Gehrig Halliday, Shawn Gerrior, Ken Townsend, Chris Free, Doug Wilman, Candiss Everingham, Adams and Morgan Robson.

In the third heat, Inglis would make contact with DeLeeuw on lap two. Then on lap four, Wolf would spin out. At the front of the field, there’d also be trouble because while battling for the lead, Paxton would spin McFerran out in turns three and four.

Shaw would pick up the win ahead of McFerran, Paxton, Adams, Love, Woodley, Wolf, Rainey and DeLeeuw.

The fourth heat would find big trouble as on lap one while four-wide, contact would be made between Everingham and Townsend, causing Townsend to make heavy contact with the outside wall. He would be okay. Swatzenburg would go for the daily double ahead of Yorke, Halliday, Melenhorst, Gerrior, Johnston, Adams, Free, Wilman and Robson.

Come feature time, Lucas Wolf would start on pole ahead of Tyler Johnston, Brendan Adams, Shawn Gerrior, Chris Free, Doug Wilman, Terry Woodley, Eric Rainey, Joe Dunlop, Gehrig Halliday, Brian Love, Eric Yorke, Ben Melenhorst, Billy Swartzenburg, Warren Paxton, Brandon McFerran, Samantha Shaw, Wendy Adams, Peter Inglis, Lisa DeLeeuw, Morgan Robson and Candiss Everingham.

Johnston would take the early lead in his No. 07 Civic ahead of Wolf while Brendan Adams and Gerrior battled side-by-side for third. Everingham would bring her mini stock to pit road on lap one, due to damage sustained earlier.

On lap three, there’d be a big moment midpack as Halliday would get into Gerrior, causing Gerrior to get sideways and he would save it, using the side of McFerran to help him. Inglis would make his way down pit road this lap due to damage sustained from his heat incident.

On lap four, Wolf would get into Johnston off of turn four, resulting in Wolf hitting the inside wall while Johnston made an impressive save down the fronstraight. Under caution, Robson would make his way down pit road. With 21 laps to go, Johnston would lead ahead of Swartzenburg, Brendan Adams, McFerran, Yorke, Gerrior, Halliday, Woodley, Shaw, Love, Melenhorst, Paxton, Dunlop, Rainey, Free, Wendy Adams, Wilman, DeLeeuw and Wolf.

On the restart, Swatzenburg would grab the lead in his No. 86 Mustang with McFerran in toe. Johnston held on to third while Yorke made his way up to fourth with a pass on Brendan Adams on lap five. The caution would then fly the next lap for Wendy Adams spinning in turn one. So now with 20 laps to go, it’d be Swatzenburg leading McFerran, Johnston, Yorke, Halliday, Brendan Adams, Shaw, Gerrior, Melenhorst, Paxton, Love, Woodley, Dunlop, Rainey, Free, DeLeeuw, Wolf, Wilman, Wendy Adams and Robson.

On the restart, Swartzenburg and McFerran would battle side-by-side for the lead with McFerran clearing Swatzenburg on lap 12 as the pair negotiated their way through lap traffic. Yorke had moved into third followed by Paton with Melenhorst and Halliday battling for fifth. On lap 14, Melenhorst and Shaw would both make their way by Halliday for fifth and sixth.

For the second half of the event, there’d be battles throughout the field as the fast cars made their way around the slower lapped cars. In the end while Swatzenburg could keep in touch with McFerran, he would not be able to find his way by resulting in McFerran picking up the win.

This marks Brandon McFerran’s second Sunset victory in 2013 following a win last month. Billy Swatzenburg would finish second to continue his string of strong runs on the 3/8 mile oval in Innisfil, Ontario as part of his tour for the year. Last year’s champion Eric Yorke would finish third for his ninth top 10 in nine races this year. Current points leader Warren Paxton would finish fourth for his ninth top five this year. Ben Melenhorst would round out the top five with his eight top five and ninth top 10 of the season.

Samantha Shaw finished sixth, followed by Gehrig Halliday, Brian Love, Tyler Johnston and Brendan Adams. Brendan was subbing for daughter Kendra Adams as Kendra is out for a couple of weeks due a concussion sustained as a result of her July 13th accident.