By Randy Spencer for Ontario Oval- The first Invitational race event of the season at Bennett Chevrolet Flamboro Speedway turned out to be a good one as a couple of visiting drivers returned to show why they were division champions in 2012 at Flamboro. Kevin Albers and Billy Schwartzenburg decided prior to the start of the season to race elsewhere but both made a triumphant return Sunday. Racing got underway at 620 pm with time trials for Mini Stocks and Thunder Cars. Schwartzenburg posted the fast time for Mini Stocks laying down a lap of 18.165. Saturday’s Thunder Car feature winner Kevin Gallant set the fast time for Thunder Cars with a time of 17.222. The top 14 Mini Stocks and top 6 Thunder Cars automatically advanced into the feature with the remainder of the field made up from a few heat races.  Heat race winners included, Mini Stocks- Jake Watson and Chad Ditner, Thunder Cars- Steve Perry, Pure Stocks- Shawn Taylor and Lucas Oil Canadian Vintage Modifieds- Steve Trendell and Steve Lyons. Feature race winners, Pure Stocks- Danny Shantz, Mini Stocks- Billy Schwartzenburg, Thunder Cars- Kevin Albers and Canadian Vintage Modifieds- Steve Lyons. A side note, Jake Watson at age 11 is one of if not the youngest driver to win a race at Flamboro. I will check into that.

Next Saturday, the Grisdale Late Models return along with the Ray’s Auto Centre & Towing Thunder Cars, Klotz Auto Repair & Engine Machine Shop Mini Stocks and the first appearance by the Ontario Pro Challenge series. Pit gates open at 4pm, Grandstands at 5pm and Racing begins at 630pm. Admission prices for the grandstands are as follows. Adult $14.60, Senior & Student $12.00, Children (12 and under) $3.00, Family Ticket (2 Adults and up to 4 children) $32.00. HST EXTRA.