After coming so close oh so many times and continuing to improve, James Low found victory lane on Saturday night behind the wheel of his No. 29 Ford Mustang. It marks his first career feature victory in his second season at Sunset Speedway.

In the first heat, the chaos would start right away as Wendy Adams would spin her No. 78 Robson Janitorial, Ol West Wing, Peace Valley Enterprises, Tom George General Contracting and Sunflower Studios Mustang around. Then on lap four, while battling for the lead, Rob Krystal would get into the back of Warren Paxton, though there’d be no caution as both would continue, though Gehrig Haliday would pass them both.

However, both Paxton and Krystal worked their way back to the front with Paxton taking the win behind the wheel of his No. 33 Blue Mountain Honda, J.F. Kitching & Son Haulage, Georgina Auto Glass, CB Services and Team Adam – Racing for Autism Awareness Civic for his 11th heat win of the 2012 season. Krystal would get back to second with Haliday scoring third, followed by Adams and Ron Goodall.

In the second heat, there’d be more trouble as on lap two, points leader Eric Yorke and Rob Gibson would wreck after Gibson got loose while three-wide with Mike Robinson Jr. They’d be all able to continue going. On the restart, Yorke would get a good jump, though would get into the back of Brian Love, spinning him while they were three-wide with someone else. It’d be Dan Britt taking the win behind the wheel of his No. 41 Dr. Parts Barrie and Douglas Ford Lincoln Collision Centre Civic. Tyler Dickson finished second, followed by Yorke, Clyde Doucette and Robinson Jr.

The third heat would run clean with Low taking the win for his second heat win of 2012, ahead of Nicole Podewils, Terry Clodd, Ken Townsend and Ryan Goddard.

In the fourth heat, Rob Krystal would take the win in his No. 99 Taurus Property Maintenance, Grass Pro Plus and Dan’s Scrap Civic after his eighth heat of the season. Paxton finished second, followed by Haliday, Goodall and Adams.

In the fifth heat, Gibson would blow the motor. Eric Yorke would win in his No. 51 Can-Alignment Motorsports, Milton Napa Auto Parts, J & D Tire, Solex Steel and McKeown Collision Nissan for his ninth heat of 2012. Doucette got second, followed by Dickson, Britt and Robinson Jr.

The final heat would go to Low for his second win of the night, followed by Podewils, Clodd, Tyler Johnston and Townsend.

When it came time for the feature, it’d be three-wide chaos right away with the fast cars coming from the back, resulting in contact between Ryan Goddard and Mike Robinson Jr. would see Robinson Jr. hitting the front stretch wall hard.

On the complete restart, it’d be Terry Clodd jumping the early lead behind the wheel of his No. 34 Ship Canada, Bourques Transmission and Auto Glass Plus Speed & Custom Civic, ahead of Ron Goodall, Wendy Adams, James Low and Tyler Dickson.

Though on the second lap, there’d be more three-wide chaos after Ken Townsend slowed up. As everybody tried to avoid him, contact between Adams and Dickson would send them into the outside turn three wall, collecting Warren Paxton and Tyler Johnston. Dickson, Adams and Johnston would be done, however Paxton’s crew would get his civic back out. Goodall would also pull off under caution.

So with 23 laps to go, Clodd would be first, followed by Low, Gehrig Haliday, Brian Love, Eric Yorke, Clyde Doucette, Dan Britt, Nicole Podewils, Rob Krystal, Townsend, Dave Henderson, Ryan Goddard, Eric Rainey, No. 00, Barkley Rainey, deLeeuw, Henderson Jr. and Henderson Jr.

On the restart, it’d be James Low jumping to the lead while Clodd battled with Yorke for second. Yorke would get by Clodd for second, followed by Krystal moving up to third, pushing Clodd back to fourth on lap four.

With 10 laps to go on lap 15, it was Low leading Yorke, Krystal, Haliday, Britt and Podewils. Podewils would pass Britt for fifth on lap 21, followed by a pass on Haliday on 24 for fourth.

At the checkered flag though, it was all James Low as he’d take the win ahead of Eric Yorke, Rob Krystal, Nicole Podewils and Gehrig Haliday. Yorke has now finished in the top five in every race this season (11) while Krystal has eight top feature top fives. The fifth place finish for Haliday marks his first ever top five feature finish. 

Dan Britt finished sixth to keep his streak going of finishing in the top 10 every race this season. Terry Clodd finished seventh, followed by Warren Paxton, Clyde Doucette and Brian Love. 

These results are unofficial. Please check the track website at for the official results when they are posted.