After mechanical problems in his heat followed by a small hick up in the Last Chance Qualifier, Ryan Dungey would take the lead on lap two and lead the rest of the way, scoring the victory in Anaheim. 

In the first heat, Dungey wouldn't start the race due to an air shock losing pressure. The team went with the air shock rather than a spring shock due to extensive testing and trying to improve their program. They switched to the spring shock before the LCQ. Dungey got off to a bad start, getting slowed up due to an incident involving the leaders. He would crawl his way through, tearing his way up the pack before making a late race pass to move into second place to qualify for the feature.

Mike Alessi would get the holeshot with Dungey up to second. Meanwhile, Justin Brayton would go down, collecting Chad Reed and Ryan Villopoto. Jake Weimer would also go down, done for the night due to his wrist being run over by another bike. 

Dungey would get by Alessi on lap two, and then Alessi would go down shortly after due to contact with points leader Davi Milsaps. Milsaps would keep his bike upright and continue.

Due to his problems, last year's champion Villopoto would be back to 12th on lap two, though fell back to 18th on lap three due to falling again.

Dungey would lead the rest of the way, continuing to extend his lead, and take home the victory.

"This ones means a lot," the Red Bull KTM rider said. "Practice went good, had a malfunction in the heat. We regrouped, landed into the LCQ and barely squeezed out."

Now sitting second in points, 14 behind Milsaps, he says this is a step in the right direction.

"It's tough going without winning," he added. "Its good to be back on top and have earned it."

Milsaps would finish second, after passing James Stewart with seven laps to go.

"The track was one of the slickest we've had all year and the sprinkle didn't help," Milsaps said, referring to the constant sprinkle of rain that fell during the main event. "I just played it safe and let Dungey get away."

Justin Barcia would round out the podium, after passing Stewart with three to go.

"We worked hard, it never feels good to have a DNF," Barcia said referring to last week's bad luck. "It feels good to be on the podium."

Stewart would finish fourth after having two weeks of bad luck. He admitted afterwards that he wasn't pushing it as hard as he could have due to his knee injury, which he suffered at the beginning of the season.

Chad Reed would fight back from the lap one incident to complete the top five, while Trey Canard finished seventh and Villopoto ended up eighth.

Millsaps now leads Dungey by 14 points, Canard by 15 points, Villopoto by 17 points and Reed by 25 points.

Supercross will continue their western swing, hitting San Diago next Saturday night.


450 Main Event Results:

  1. Ryan Dungey – KTM
  2. Davi Millsaps – SUZ
  3. Justin Barcia – HON
  4. James Stewart – SUZ
  5. Chad Reed – HON
  6. Andrew Short – HON
  7. Trey Canard – HON
  8. Ryan Villopoto – KAW
  9. Broc Tickle – SUZ
  10. Justin Brayton – YAM
  11. Matt Lemoine -
  12. Jimmy Albertson
  13. Matt Goerke – KTM
  14. Kyle Chisholm
  15. Vince Friese
  16. PJ Larsen
  17. Mike Alessi – SUZ
  18. Josh Grant – YAM
  19. Chris Blose
  20. Jake Weimer – KAW

450 Point standings:

  1. Davi Millsaps – 107
  2. Ryan Dungey – 93
  3. Trey Canard – 92
  4. Ryan Villopoto – 90
  5. Chad Reed – 81
  6. Andrew Short – 71
  7. Justin Barcia – 61
  8. James Stewart – 56
  9. Justin Brayton – 53
  10. Jake Weimer – 48
  11. Matt Goerke – 47
  12. Broc Tickle – 47
  13. Josh Grant – 40
  14. Kyle Chisholm – 37
  15. Vince Friese – 30
  16. Mike Alessi – 29
  17. Matt Lemoine – 26
  18. Weston Peick – 22
  19. Kevin Windham – 21
  20. Jimmy Albertson – 21