After going 350 days without a Supercross win, James Stewart would return to the top step of the podium, winning at theGeorgia Dome. The win comes after Stewart's disappointment in Dallas when he failed to start the A-Main as a result of a broken clutch. 

"I think I rode better at Dallas," he said. "I struggled all day. Like I’ve been saying – I felt like if I got a good start, I could win one of these things. It’s been a long time since I led. I was a little nervous out there but calmed down the nerves and went at it……..I believe in my team. I believe in their hardwork. What more can I say!"

Stewart's last win came at Daytona Int'l Speedway, which Supercross returns there in March. Stewart was able to get the holeshot and never look back, having a two second lead at one point.

Defending series champion Ryan Villopoto followed Stewart through the first two turns, and remained there the rest of the night, bringing home a second place finish.

"It was tough," he said. "When James gets out front like that, it’s tough. I tried to put the pressure on and make him make a mistake. But it’s not about him. It’s about Davi (Millsaps). He’s running up front every week. I need to keep pressuring him."

Davi Millsaps kept up his streak of solid finishes, finishing third after passing Justin Barcia on lap three.

"It’s definitely a slick track," he said. "It looks tacky, but its slick once you get down there. I mean, I spun right out of the gate."

Barcia would finish fourth, followed by Trey Carnard and Ryan Dungey.

Defending Supercross West Lites Champion Eli Tomac made his Supercross debut, posting the quickest time in practice before finishing seventh.

"It’s a whole new thing," Tomac said of his night. "People don’t realize how much 200 cc really matters. I can take with me that I’m fast in practice – I can go fast in practice. It’s a whole new deal figuring out how to hold on to it for 20 laps and be consistent."

Jake Weimer finished eighth, followed by Chad Reed and Mike Alessi. 

Millsaps now leads Villopoto by 22 points.


450 Main Event Results:

  1. James Stewart – SUZ
  2. Ryan Villopoto – KAW
  3. Davi Millsaps – SUZ
  4. Justin Barcia – HON
  5. Trey Canard – HON
  6. Ryan Dungey – KTM
  7. Eli Tomac – HON
  8. Jake Weimer – KAW
  9. Chad Reed – HON
  10. Mike Alessi – SUZ
  11. Matt Goerke – KTM
  12. Broc Tickle – SUZ
  13. Justin Brayton – YAM
  14. Andrew Short – KTM
  15. PJ Larsen – HON
  16. Josh Hill – SUZ
  17. Chris Blose – YAM
  18. Les Smith – KTM
  19. Jimmy Albertson – HON
  20. Robert Kiniry – YAM

450 Point standings:

  1. Davi Millsaps – 174
  2. Ryan Villopoto – 152
  3. Ryan Dungey – 148
  4. Trey Canard – 135
  5. Chad Reed – 127
  6. Justin Barcia – 116
  7. Andrew Short – 102
  8. James Stewart – 100
  9. Justin Brayton – 91
  10. Matt Goerke – 79
  11. Broc Tickle – 77
  12. Jake Weimer – 61
  13. Mike Alessi – 60
  14. Josh Grant – 40
  15. Weston Peick – 39
  16. Kyle Chisholm – 37
  17. Matt Lemoine – 34
  18. Jim Albertson – 31
  19. Vince Friese – 30
  20. Rob Kiniry – 24