When it came to the Mini Stock feature at Sunset Speedway on Saturday night, it’d be Warren Paxton picking up his second feature victory of the 2012 season, behind the wheel of his No. 33 Civic.


Though the action started right away in the first heat as on lap eight, there’d be a caution when Rob Gibson’s tire fell off. Then on the restart, Dan Britt would go for a spin. In the end, it’d be Eric Yorke taking the victory in his No. 51 Nissan 240x ahead of Nicole Podewils, Clyde Doucette, Brian Love, Britt, Doug Butler, Gehrig Haliday and Eric Rainey.


In the second heat, Ryan Goddard would go for a spin on lap eight to bring out the caution. Tyler Johnston would then head to the pits. Terry Clodd would take the victory in his No. 34 Honda CRX, ahead of Mike Robinson Jr., Paxton, Goddard, Terry Woodley, Melinda Thomas and Lisa deLeeuw.


In the third heat, Krystal would take her No. 99 Civic to victory lane, ahead of Haliday, Yorke, Gibson, Love, Doucette, Podewils, Britt,Butlerand Rainey.


The final heat would go to Paxton, ahead of Ken Townsend, Robinson Jr., Woodley, Goddard, Thomas and deLeeuw.


When it came to the Mini Stock feature, it’d be Rob Gibson leading on the opening lap in his No. 3 Honda Prelude, ahead of Melinda Thomas while Ken Townsend and Gehrig Haliday battled for third. Townsend would clear Gehrig Haliday for third on lap two, and would then get into a three-way battle for second on lap three with Thomas. Tyler Johnston would also bring his No. 07 Civic down pit road.


After the battle for second sorted out on lap four, it’d be Gibson leading over Townsend, Haliday and Warren Paxton while Thomas battled with Rob Krystal for fifth. Krystal would clear Thomas for fifth on lap five while Paxton got alongside Townsend for second. Paxton would clear Townsend for second on lap six and then look to pass Gibson for the lead. Paxton would complete the pass on lap nine through turn two.


So on lap nine it was Paxton leading Gibson and Townsend while Krystal and Haliday battled for fourth. Krystal would continue his climb through the field, passing Haliday on lap 10.


On lap 11, it was now Paxton leading Gibson, Townsend, Krystal, Haliday and Thomas while Brian Love battled with Eric Yorke for seventh. Yorke would pass both Love and Thomas on lap 12 to move up to fifth while Krystal looked to pass Townsend for third. Krystal would complete that pass on lap 13.


So at the halfway mark of the 25 lap feature, it was Paxton leading Gibson, Krystal, Townsend, Haliday, Yorke, Thomas, Nicole Podewils and Love. Krysal would pass Gibson on lap 14 as Gibson fell back through the field, outside of the top five.


Haliday and Townsend would get side-by-side for third on lap 16, though there’d be contact between the two, resulting in a caution as Townsend went around.


On the restart, it’d be Paxton leading Krystal, Yorke, Gibson and Love while Podewils and Britt battled for sixth. They’d continue to battle on lap 19 while Yorke got alongside Krystal for second. Podewils would clear Love on lap 21 while Yorke would clear Krystal on lap 22. With three laps to go, it’d be Paxton leading Yorke, Krystal, Gibson and Podewils while Britt and Love battled for sixth.


There’d be a caution on the white flag when Clyde Doucette would spin Dan Britt around.


The final two laps after the restart would belong all to Warren Paxton as he’d take the victory. Eric Yorke would finish second for his 13th top five in 13 starts this season with Rob Krystal in third for his ninth top five. Rob Gibson would finish fourth for his first top five feature finish of 2012 with Brian Love fourth for his first top five of 2012, also. James Low would round out the top five with his sixth top five of 2012.


Nicole Podewils would finish sixth, followed by Mike Robinson Jr., Gehrig Haliday, Terry Clodd and Ken Townsend.


Doug Butler finished 11th, followed by Melinda Thomas, Terry Woodley, Ryan Goddard, Eric Rainey, Clyde Doucette, Dan Britt and Lisa deLeeuw.