NTT IndyCar Series


IndyCar Release


Race date: Saturday, June 6

Track: Texas Motor Speedway, a 1.5-mile oval

Media links: Entry List (PDF) |

Race distance: 200 laps / 300 miles

Firestone tire allotment: Nine sets primary to be used during practice, qualifying and the race. Rookies and first-time Texas participants will get an extra set.

Twitter: @TXMotorSpeedway @INDYCAR, #Genesys300, #INDYCAR #ADifferentBreed

Event website:

INDYCAR website:

2019 race winner: Josef Newgarden, 1:55:08.8666, 186.084 mph (248 laps/372 miles)

2019 NTT P1 Award winner: Takuma Sato, 47.0738 seconds, 220.250 mph (two laps)

Qualifying records (based on track distance of 1.44 miles)

One lap: Charlie Kimball, 23.2730, 222.747 mph, June 9, 2017

Two laps: Charlie Kimball, 46.5861 seconds, 222.556 mph, June 9, 2017

NBC Sports telecasts: Qualifying, 5 p.m. ET Saturday on NBCSN and NBC Sports Gold (live); Race, 8 p.m. ET Saturday on NBC (live). Pre-race show begins at 7:30 p.m. on NBCSN. Leigh Diffey is the announcer alongside analysts Townsend Bell and Paul Tracy. Marty Snider and Kelli Stavast will report from the pits.

Pennzoil INDYCAR Radio Network broadcasts: Mark Jaynes is the chief announcer alongside analyst Davey Hamilton. Jake Query is the turn announcer with Nick Yeoman reporting from the pits. The Genesys 300 race airs live on network affiliates, Sirius 211, XM 205, and the INDYCAR Mobile app powered by NTT DATA. All NTT INDYCAR SERIES practices and qualifying are available on and the INDYCAR Mobile app, with qualifying also airing on Sirius 211 and XM 205.

NBC Sports Gold live streaming: All NTT INDYCAR SERIES practice sessions and qualifying will stream live on INDYCAR Pass on NBC Sports Gold, NBC Sports’ direct-to-consumer live streaming product.

At-track schedule (All times local/Central Time): 


Noon – 2:30 p.m. – NTT INDYCAR SERIES Practice, NBC Sports Gold

4 p.m. – Genesys 300 Qualifying (Single-car, cumulative time of two laps), NBC Sports Gold (live) and NBCSN (live)

6:30 p.m. –  NBCSN pre-race show begins

7 p.m. –  Command to start engines

7:05 p.m. – Genesys 300 green flag (200 laps/300 miles), NBC (live)

Race Notes:

  • This will mark the first time that Texas Motor Speedway has served as the NTT INDYCAR SERIES season-opening venue. The Genesys 300 will be the 32nd INDYCAR race at TMS overall, dating to Arie Luyendyk winning the inaugural in 1997.
  • The Texas INDYCAR race has been run every June since 1997. No driver has competed in every Texas race, but Scott Dixon and Tony Kanaan have started 20 races. Both are entered in the Genesys 300.
  • Due to the delay caused by the COVID-19 pandemic, Kanaan seeks to start his 318th consecutive race this weekend, which would extend his Indy car record streak that began in June 2001 at Portland. Dixon has made 258 consecutive starts heading into the weekend, which is the second-longest streak. Andretti Herta Autosport with Marco Andretti & Curb-Agajanian’s Marco Andretti has made 234 consecutive starts, which is the third-longest streak of all time.
  • The Aeroscreen is a safety innovation for enhanced driver cockpit protection that will make its NTT INDYCAR SERIES race debut at the Genesys 300 on Saturday, June 6. The safety feature is a ballistic, canopy-like windscreen anchored by titanium framework encompassing the cockpit. INDYCAR has mandated its use by all teams at all track disciplines (ovals, permanent road courses and temporary street circuits).
  • Helio Castroneves won four times at Texas Motor Speedway (2004 Race 2, 2006, 2009 and 2013), the most wins by an Indy car driver at the track. Six past TMS winners are entered in this year’s race: Kanaan (2004 Race 1), Dixon (2008, 2015 and 2018), Will Power (2011 Race 2 and 2017), Ed Carpenter (2014), Graham Rahal (2016) and Josef Newgarden (2019).
  • Power has won the pole for three of the past seven Texas Motor Speedway races (2013, 2014 and 2015). Other past pole winners entered this year are Dixon (2008), Charlie Kimball (2017), Newgarden (2018) and Takuma Sato (2019). Kanaan won a draw to start first for the second of the 2011 doubleheader races but has never won the pole at Texas.
  • Six drivers have won the Texas race from the pole: Sam Hornish Jr. (2001 Race 2), Gil de Ferran (2003 Race 2), Castroneves (2004 Race 2), Tomas Scheckter (2005), Dixon (2008) and Ryan Briscoe (2010).
  • Drivers who have won at Texas have gone on to win the NTT INDYCAR SERIES championship eight times: Hornish (2001 Race 2 and 2002 Race 2), Kanaan (2004 Race 1), Dixon (2008, 2015 and 2018), Dario Franchitti (2011 Race 1) and Newgarden (2019).
  • Twenty-one drivers entered this weekend have competed in past NTT INDYCAR SERIES events at Texas Motor Speedway. Fourteen drivers have led laps at the track: Dixon 517, Power 432, Kanaan 372, James Hinchcliffe 196, Carpenter 92, Simon Pagenaud 85, Marco Andretti 84, Newgarden 121, Sato 60, Ryan Hunter-Reay 136, Rahal 36, Kimball 27, Alexander Rossi 10 and Marcus Ericsson 2.
  • Three rookies – Oliver AskewAlex Palou and Rinus VeeKa– are entered and will make their first NTT INDYCAR SERIES start this weekend at Texas. It will be Palou’s first race on a oval.
  • Since 2012, the NTT INDYCAR SERIES has averaged nine different race winners per season, including a record-tying 11 winners in 2014. There were seven different winners in the 17 races of 2019.

Categories: NTT IndyCar Series

Tagged as:

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s