Road to Indy

2021 Road to Indy Silly Season Synopsis Part 4

By: Ashley McCubbin

With many young drivers hopeful of competing in the NTT IndyCar Series one day, it’s no secret the Road to Indy Silly Season can sometimes be full of surprises and new faces. As a result, the past couple of weeks have seen a series of driver announcements as more competitors lock in their rides for 2021.

Indy Lights Presented by Cooper Tires

Confirmed Grid:

  • Juncos Racing – Sting Ray Robb, Toby Sowery
  • HMD Motorsports – David Malukas, Nikita Lastochkin
  • HMD Motorsports with Global Racing Group – Benjamin Pedersen, Linus Lundqvist
  • Andretti Autosport – Danial Frost, Kyle Kirkwood, Robert Megennis
  • Andretti Autosport with Steinbrenner Racing – Devlin DeFrancesco
  • Carlin Racing and Jay Howard Driving Development – Alex Peroni, Christian Bogle

Indy Pro 2000 Presented by Cooper Tires

Pabst Racing finally threw their name in the silly season hat, confirming Hunter McElrea will be back with the team in 2021. It marks their third season partnered together following a win in the season finale last season, and 10 consecutive top-10’s to close the campaign. He will have a familiar teammate, with Colin Kaminsky also returning to the team, as well. He showed speed last season with nine top-10 finishes and two podiums.

Exclusive Autosport also revealed more details to their program, with Artem Petrov joining Braden Eves. Petrov won two races last season, taking victories at Road America and Mid-Ohio en route to fourth in the overall championship standings.

After winning the USF2000 Championship last season, Christian Rasmussen will make his move to the next step of the Road to Indy ladder with Jay Howard Driver Development. He will have Wyatt Brichacek as a teammate.

Kyffin Simpson now knows whom he will have as a teammate as juncos Racing with Manuel Sulaiman set for his sophomore campaign. The Mexican proved to be one of the top competitors during the 2020 Indy Pro 2000 Championship, claiming two wins (Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course and New Jersey Motorsports Park), three poles and four podiums along with recording four fastest laps throughout the season.

Flinn Lazier will get to run his rookie campaign, courtesy of a new partnership with Legacy Autosport.

Confirmed Grid

  • Velocity Racing Development – Hunter Yeany
  • Miller Vinatieri Motorsports – Jack William Miller
  • Turn 3 Motorsports – James Roe
  • RP Motorsport (with support from Andretti Autosport) – Enzo Fittipaldi
  • Juncos Racing – Kyffin Simpson, Manuel Sulaiman
  • Exclusive Autosport – Braden Eves, Artem Petrov
  • Pabst Motorsports – Hunter McElrea, Colin Kaminsky
  • Jay Howard Driver Development – Christian Rasmussen, Wyatt Brichacek
  • Legacy Autosport – Flinn Lazier

Cooper Tires USF2000 Championship

Cape Motorsports will have four cars on the grid, confirming Spike Kohlbecker and Evan Stamer will be joining previously announced Thomas Nepveu and Michael d’Orlando. Kohbecker moved from karts to cars in 2017, and most recently placed third in the 2020 F4 US Championship Powered by Honda. Stamer, meanwhile, has multiple karting championships under his belt as he enters the world of cars.

Confirmed Grid

  • Velocity Racing Development – Erik Evans, TBA
  • Miller Vinatieri Motorsports – Kent Vaccaro
  • Turn 3 Motorsports – Dylan Christie, Josh Green
  • Pabst Racing – Josh Pierson, Yuven Sundaramoorthy
  • Cape Motorsports – Thomas Nepveu, Michael d’Orlando, Spike Kohlbecker, Evan Stamer
  • Force Indy – Myles Rowe
  • Jay Howard Driver Development – Bijoy Garg
  • Exclusive Autosport – Billy Frazer, Christian Brooks
  • Ignite Autosport with Cape Motorsports – Spike Kohlbecker, Evan Stamer


FOLLOW ON TWITTER: @ladybug388

The thoughts and opinions expressed here are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect those of NewsFromThePits.comits owners, management or other contributors. Any links contained in this article should not be considered an endorsement. 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s